Open vision bar

Monroe County FCCLA Attends State Leadership Conference



Monroe County Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) members attended the 72nd annual state leadership conference from March 19th to March 22nd at the Galt House Hotel in Louisville, Kentucky.  The Monroe County chapter was recognized for several chapter events including participation in the Pennies for Patients program; involvement in Student Body, Families First, and STOP the Violence national programs; and being named a Gold Honor Roll chapter. 

Multiple Monroe County students were recognized throughout the conference including:

  • State Degree recipients Hanna Davis and Lexie Emmert
  • Power of One recipients Taylor Emberton, Haley Dubree, Kiley Birge, Callie Copass, Cally Sue Harlin, Lydia Emberton, and Kylee Brown
  • State Scholarship Committee members Callie Copass, Hanna Davis, Riley Burroughs, Kiley Birge, Landri Walden
  • Agnes Foster Golden Horizon Award recipient Hanna Davis
  • Cassie Strong placed 3rd in Career Investigation senior STAR Event
  • Hanna Davis placed 3rd in Job Interview senior STAR Event
  • Landri Walden and Kiley Birge placed 1st in Illustrated Talk junior STAR Event
  • Parent Teresa Emmert received the Outstanding Service Award
  • Area Technology Center Principal Jerri Rowland was inducted as an Honorary Member
  • Monroe County FCS teacher and FCCLA Adviser Kelli Dickson was named Outstanding FCCLA Adviser of the Year. 

Shown are those recognized at the annual Awards Banquet: Hanna Davis (Agnes Foster Golden Horizon Award), Jerri Rowland (Honorary Member), Kentucky FCCLA President Lexie Grace Emmert, Kelli Dickson (Outstanding FCCLA Adviser of the Year), Teresa Emmert (Outstanding Service Award)

Several members also took on a variety of roles while at the conference including:

  • Lexie Emmert, state President, who presided over the conference
  • Callie Copass served on the national officer nominating committee
  • Kiley Birge, Callie Copass, and Riley Burroughs who presented a concurrent session over the America Smiles Tooth Fairy Grant
  • Lydia Emberton, Callie Copass, and Cassie Strong who sang the National Anthem during the Opening Session.

Michael Sutton, Landri Walden, Kiley Birge, Sarah Ford, Mariel Bartley, Cassie Strong, and Hanna Davis competed in STAR Events 

Kiley Birge (left) and Landri Walden who placed first in their STAR Event.  Kiley and Landri have qualified to compete at the National Leadership Conference in Nashville this summer. 

Back to School News      Print News Article
© 2020 Monroe County School District